All · Learnings · Memories · motivation

Daddy’s little girl

Dear Daddy, I may find a prince someday, but you will always be my king.

Since I can remember things, when the word strength brings only one image in my mind – papa. For each of us, admit it or not, have a parent whom we do favor a tiny bit more than the other. And for me, my partiality has always been a degree more towards papa.

Today being his birthday, i have decided to write a little something about him and try to express what I truly feel about him (since I am better at writing and expressing, than talking it out).

Papa and I...
Papa and I…

Some of my fondest memories from childhood is learning things from papa. The way he used to teach me mathematics and science and even poems (which I am really bad at), the fear, the joy and the happiness that I found after learning something from him still helps me every single day. Having gained an understanding of how important it is to be punctuality is in life, has definitely helped me shape me into the person I am today.

Spending time with family, respecting each and everyone, picking us up at each step and not letting the feeling of failure even sink in – each small action has gradually helped me erase the word ‘failure’ from my dictionary. Since I was the elder child, I tried to instill all that I learned from papa to my little brother. Although I must agree, first hand knowledge is always better; nonetheless, it helped him as well.

There were times when I couldn’t tell him things, but he always knew. He always understood. The anger, the disappointments, the fear and every possible emotion I underwent, he always knew it through my words. Even though I shared things with mumma, he needed no words from my end to sense my feelings. Β That is something that I learned from him.

From competitions, to picnics, to exams and finally to agree me doing masters in an absolute foreign country; he is my source of energy. He always told me that, “Charu, a vehicle runs on 4 wheels. We are a family of 4 and we must be together in order to reach our goals”. This particular line still runs through my mind every single day and for each of my (our) achievements, I thank each of them. Gratitude, such a simple thing, has been instilled in me from papa. And that is the reason, it helps me being ‘grounded’ (you know what I mean?).

Each of my friends who have met him have only one thing to say to me, “Your dad is really cool”. I have seen him make them feel comfortable as if they were talking to another friend. Although he is from a different generation all together, he has made (and is still making) an effort to understand what does the youth of today really think and believe in. And after hearing one side of story, he will definitely put forward his ‘traditional’ points in the most useful and warm way.

Papa is man of principles and if anything is not ethically right, well that means a Β dead-end for me. Living anywhere in the world has got nothing to do with what you think or follow. It is on each of us and I believe in that one hundred percent.

As they say –

A son is a son, until he gets a wife. But a daughter is a daughter, all her life.

Papa, a very happy birthday and I would like to whole heatedly thank you for always being there for me, no matter what. I hope I am at least 10% like you by the time I come to your age.

P.S. When I tried searching through my 80 GB of photos from home, Β all I found is 9 photos of you and I, but all I have filled in my unlimited space (mind) is memories of you and home. I guess, photos can sure speak a thousand words but some things are of much more worth – memories.

P.P.S. I could go on and on about him, but here are some of the fondest things πŸ™‚ I am sure you too have a lot to share, so comment below and tell me how you feel about your dad. Is he your super hero too? πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Daddy’s little girl

  1. Hi Charu ,
    I am a big fan of my dad , n this write up seems like one that I connect to deeply . . I believe child’s virtue n values are imbibed from parents and for a girl its daddy who is the role model .I am Proud of you ..Your one of the young refined talented students I ve had…Keep up with the confident demeanour its absolutely admirable. . Regards Divya Mam

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Ma’am,
      Thank you so much for your constant encouragement and support πŸ™‚
      I miss the college days and your classes πŸ™‚ they were perfect balance of learning with fun πŸ™‚
      Thank you so much πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Hi Charu ,
    Met your dad yesterday at the hospital . We had a long conversation.He did mention about you more than once infact many times. He is proud about you , your achievements , your passion , your writings and why shouldn’t he be !
    Wishing you all the very best for your profession , passion and the whole life .

    Regards,
    Rinin.

    Like

    1. Dear Rinin Ji,
      Thank you very much for those kind words πŸ™‚ What I am today and what I’m striving for is all because of my parents and brother support πŸ™‚ I am blessed πŸ™‚ thanks a lot πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

