All · Learnings · Memories · motivation

The convocation elation

“All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them” – Walt Disney

This judicious statement by sir Walt Disney is as true as it can get. Inspiring me since years to push my limits and encouraging to keep going if I want to see the view, from where I wish to see. I am sure a lot of you can relate to this when I say, after reaching a point that you have dreamed of, it does seem all worth it. This is exactly what I felt as I was waiting for my name to be called to receive my degree at St. Petrikirche, Chemnitz.

Knowing that my parents are sitting amongst all the other parents less than 50m away was just another level of euphoria. I could hardly even believe they were here. All this while, I used to explain the places and describe the situations that I was in during my stay in Chemnitz and that day, they were here, with me, finally seeing it for themselves.
I had already met my German parents before taking the seat and they were too in the vicinity, seeing over me and my German sister. (More about that in coming posts). Unfortunately the only thing missing were my friends. Two of them traveled with me all the way from Stuttgart and other three had skipped their work (office) for that day, just to be waiting to see me walk out that door after the ceremony and celebrate for me. Taking my jubilation to another level altogether. I couldn’t have been more blessed than this. I honestly couldn’t have asked for more.

All my memories, sweet and bitter were going to be concealed into my final chapter of Chemnitz on this day. There were things that still hurt me this day, some knowledgeable hurtful lines by some of the people there, but all that kept me going was thinking about all the other people waiting inside and outside that church who stood by me through all thick and thin. With the graduation caps (academic cap) and the tassel (the thread that is attached on it) had changed its direction from left to right and it was done.

Walking out after the beautiful ceremony, it was time for something that I had been waiting to try all my life (thanks to all the hollywood college movies) – throwing of the cap in air. The moment was absolutely surreal. And what followed was just adding cherry(ies) to the perfect cake that the day already was.IMG_4212

Since it was TU Chemnitz 180th graduation ceremony, they decided to do something so magnificent that my words wouldn’t be able to justify the moment and hence, following are the pictures that say it all.

 After this wonderful follow-up, it was time to meet everyone and for those 40 minutes feel like I don’t need anything else in life and on my last day I would be content just thinking about these moments. No, it wasn’t because of the degree. No, it wasn’t because of throwing the caps. No, it wasn’t because of the robe. It was simple because of the people who were there on that day, with me, and the look in their eyes. Genuine happiness and pride. Sometimes, that’s all one needs to keep your brain/heart smiling forever.

I danced with my German sister (Toya), as she too graduated that day. We threw the cap over and over again just to capture one perfect picture. We captured memories in all photographs possible just so that I could smile from ear to ear, just by thinking of those moments.

My parent and my brother had a very unique and unexpected gift for me that day. Something that I have never been given before. It was a website. Domain bought and designed by them. Why? To give me a start. To what? My writing. They believed that I would not only continue writing but actually accomplish something, someday with the passion. I know buying a domain isn’t a big thing but I didn’t have the confidence that I was ready yet. But they did. And most of the times – actions do speak louder than words.
Here is the website they created. I haven’t edited even a single word because this is the first time it is being shown in public and I wanted to show the original form of it before I start working on it – CharuPathni.com.
Followed by website, flowers, chocolates, champagne and cutest teddy in the world, we headed to an Indian restaurant. Both with my Indian parents and German parents and all my friends. We (Toya and I) were asked to give a few words of how we felt and there was no one on the table who didn’t have moist eyes by the end of it.
The afternoon was complete with a bow when our friends Jenny and Lahari arrived at the restaurant, just because they wanted to wish personally and be there for the moments.
It was unquestionably one of the best days at Chemnitz.thumb_DSC_0483_1024
Thousands of students graduate every year. Yes. But the main motive to write about this day is very simple – a lot of friends of mine back in India and a lot of other acquaintances questioned each time, how can daughter of a  middle-class family dream such big things. It’s not even possible.
Well, I must admit, it wasn’t the easiest thing in both mine and my parent’s life. But if you have the right support, and right adherence for anything in life, it is possible. And when you reach the end (of the first chapter), you know it that it was completely worth the efforts just to see the look in your parents eyes at that moment.
Keep smiling! 🙂
P.S. Please leave your opinions and views in the comments below. If you like reading my posts and would continue to do so, please like the post and subscribe to my blog 🙂 You can also like my Facebook page: CubeOfLife 🙂
10 thoughts on “The convocation elation

  1. Congratulations.. Although i don’t know you but i could feel your happiness and pride after reading your very well written post. Hope you get the best of everything in your life.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Charu, all the clicks are just admirably picture perfect, sporting the emotions of that special day and your description was the icing. Feathered celebration is just another word. Congratulations to you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There are so many things to congratulate about, so congratulations on all of them! 🙂

    It was again a heartful post through your lively writing. All the pictures seem so amazing. I think most of them have been taken by Raunak – so kudos to his photography! And yeah, best of the luck for the next chapter of your life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

