All · Learnings · motivation · Positive

Fashion or comfort?

Just because the title says fashion, this post isn’t necessarily only aimed for the female readers.

Having cleared that, I would like to share my thoughts on what I’ve been observing off late.

Maybe I am already late to start understanding what does trend and fashion really mean. But with my attempts of observing people around me, trying to make some fixes, and failing miserably at it, made me think if I’m the only one or someone out there too feels the same.

Sun is finally out. There are all kinds of colors and patterns and cool ‘trends‘ going around. And when I walk out that door each day, and see myself as the weird one, it kinda displaces my thoughts on the matter.

The reality is, no one cares. Or what they always say. But contradictory to that is, people do judge based on what they only ‘see’. So for instance, me wearing a regular cargo shorts, t-shirt, sport shoes and a cap (because it’s really hot!) gives me “I thought I saw a boy coming” from a friend of mine. I don’t really take offense to such things, so I replied, “Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚” and we continued to where we had to go.

Later, I asked myself was looking like a boy or rather wearing what’s comfortable such a bad thing?

Personally, while going on long walks or hiking, if I’m not well prepared, it kinda scares me and that’s the only reason I go with comfort dressing. But this doesn’t end here.

On my way to work, dressing regular, for me, being comfortable is slightly more important than bearing the difficulty of keeping my skirt straight or wearing something that doesn’t have pockets. And I wouldn’t still think about this so much if I wasn’t told the following directly to me:

Your roommate/friend/colleague dresses so well, why aren’t you like that?” or “She is always wearing such pretty tops and dresses, why are you dressed as if you have come for a jog?

I don’t know if that bothers me or not but to everyone out there who thinks on similar note about me or anyone else, I would like to clear something.

Dressing up is a personal choice. Spending time on matching or shopping is a personal choice. Spending money on fashion is a personal choice.

Kindly, stop judging or commenting based on how a person looks.

I agree that there are occasions and meetings and so on, where clothes are particularly noted and should be, and those times, I do make an extra effort to at least not look like a ‘guy’.

But hey, if you know someone or not, think of it this way, “Is this a person I wanna be friends with?” or “Do I get good vibes?” or “Does my frequency match with this person?” and GET to know them if you like before jumping on conclusions and commenting about their clothes budget for that month/year.

This might seem like a really small thing, but such comments, can really put someone in a low place. Drop their self-confidence. Or might even force them to spend on things they wouldn’t want to or don’t have the capacity to.

I heard such things, been hearing for quite a while and I honestly couldn’t care less.

People who love me and whom I love, love me for the person I am and other way around.

Parents don’t love their children based on kind of clothes they wear. Siblings don’t care for each other just because the other one looks like a super star. And friendship isn’t based on how fancy the wardrobe is.

And hence, I wanted to write to the ones who might be doing this (unknowingly) and to the ones who go through this (like me, more often than we think) and say, ‘Don’t worry ๐Ÿ™‚‘.

Love yourself.

Be yourself.

Keep smiling and stay strong ๐Ÿ™‚

7 thoughts on “Fashion or comfort?

  1. Very interesting post, had to share with my team.
    I am of the opinion that we should always dress the part and take feedback from others on our dressing seriously. Giving that kind of feedback is not easy.

    Just thoughts x

    Like

  2. Lovely … i like it and totally agree what you are wearing is your personal choice and be yourself and love yourself . One thing for sure no matter what the comments will never stop .. this way or other way .. people around you will keep saying . So love yourself and keep going. 9

    Like

  3. Lovely … i like it and totally agree what you are wearing is your personal choice and be yourself and love yourself . One thing for sure no matter what the comments will never stop .. this way or other way .. people around you will keep saying . So love yourself and keep going.

    Like

Leave a Reply

